The PCTG, comprising some 800 members across multiple sectors, is led by an enthusiastic committee of professionals, all of whom are active in this field.

The Committee was formed in 2017 by volunteers wishing to revive the PCTG, which had been inactive for some time. Committee posts will be up for election in 2021.

Carl Steele CChem FRSC

Carl currently lives in West Cumbria and works for Sellafield Limited and works in nuclear waste treatment.  He has over 20 years of experience in research and development relating to nuclear spent fuel reprocessing and waste vitrification.  In his current role he is working in the analytical laboratories on measurement technology development.


Mark Hughes MRSC

Retired from GSK Stevenage within process development Mark has spent 15 years developing flow processes through understanding reaction kinetics and process analytics.


Dr Phil Kay CChem MRSC

Phil is an Analytics Consultant for JMP, a division of SAS. He helps companies to reduce costs and increase speed to market by empowering scientists with modern data analytics tools. In this role he draws on his experience as both process development chemist and data scientist in the chemical industry.


Dr Mukund Chorghade CChem FRSC

Mukund is President and Chief Scientific Officer, THINQ Pharma / MVRC Research/ Chicago Discovery Solutions. He has held appointments at several universities including Harvard, MIT, Princeton, and Cambridge. He provides synthetic chemistry and pharmaceutical development expertise to academia and industry. His research interests are in Traditional Medicine derived New Chemical Entities and the discovery of “chemosynthetic livers” that find utility in drug metabolism, valorization of biomass and environmental remediation.

Commitee Member former Chairman

Dr Peter Clarke CChem MRSC

Based in Hong Kong, Peter runs a safety consultancy business serving high hazard industries in the oil and gas, chemical, energy and mining sectors. Find out more

Committee Member

Dr Bethan Coulson MRSC

Bethan has recently joined Johnson Matthey Fuel Cells working towards sustainable energy solutions for industries such as the automotive sectors.

Committee Member

Richard Hart CChem CSci FRSC

Located in the North West of England, Richard is a Principal Scientist working in Data Capture & Utilisation for Global Chemical Development at AstraZeneca.

Committee member

Siddharth Patwardhan, CChem, FRSC

Siddharth is an EPSRC Fellow in Manufacturing and a Professor of Sustainable Chemical and Materials Engineering at the University of Sheffield. He leads the Green Nanomaterials Research Group with a vision to develop sustainable manufacturing routes to functional nanomaterials. With experience of nanomaterials synthesis, green chemistry and scale-up, he aims to bridge the gaps from discovery to manufacturing. Read more at

Committee Member

Mariyam Bi

Mariyam is a student at The University of Sheffield, studying for an MEng in Chemical Engineering. She aims to gain industrial experience in the process engineering industry, with focus on renewable energy, sustainability and process safety. She is passionate about a career in research and her highest ambition is becoming an astronaut. Outside of her studies, she is an enthusiastic advocate for mental health and well-being, raising awareness on her social media profiles, enjoys hiking in the peak district region and channels her creativity through painting, writing and photography.

Placement student at xSeriCon and PCTG developing Proc Tank.

Please reload


New members are always welcome, to help us drive our exciting programme of activities and projects.


The Committee meets 3 times per year in London. On the other 9 months of the year, the Committee meets by teleconference. If you are thinking of joining, please consider whether this level of commitment is right for you.


Please contact us to find out more.

© 2019 RSC PCTG

Legal Notice